MedicWatchAn independent record

Health and Care Professions Council determination — review hearing

HCPTS extends Laura S McArthur's suspension for six months after private review

The public HCPTS order extends Laura S McArthur's suspension from 17 September 2026. Detailed health matters were considered privately, with another review due before March 2027.

MedicWatch editorial · Published 29 July 2026 · Updated 22 September 2026

Suspension (suspended from practice) — 6 months

Data last checked: 22 September 2026Report a correction

What does “suspended from practice” mean?

The regulator imposed a fixed-term suspension in this decision. Its start date, appeal provisions and any later review affect whether it is currently in force. Check the official register for the practitioner's current status.

Concerning Laura S McArthur, occupational therapist (Health and Care Professions Council OT27229).

Decision date: 29 July 2026 · Hearing started 29 July 2026

In plain English

The HCPTS Health Committee extended occupational therapist Laura S McArthur's suspension for six months from 17 September 2026. The review was held in private because the concerns were closely linked to health matters. The published decision records the order and the requirement for another review before 17 March 2027, but does not disclose the detailed health findings or substantive review reasoning.

Charges

The review concerned a suspension in proceedings involving health and an allegation of attending work while intoxicated in August 2021. The detailed health matters and substantive review reasoning are not disclosed in the public decision.

Findings

The Health Committee conducted the review in private to protect the registrant's health and private life. The published order extends suspension for six months from 17 September 2026, with another review before expiry on 17 March 2027. The public version does not provide the detailed substantive reasoning, so no further findings are inferred.

Source

All facts on this page are drawn from the publicly published Health and Care Professions Council determination linked below. MedicWatch does not editorialise the regulator’s findings.

Spot something incorrect?

If a fact on this page is wrong, or you believe the page should not be published, please submit a correction or takedown request.

Choose what works for you. Your choices are remembered for 180 days and you can change them any time using Cookie settings.