Published regulator decisions

UK healthcare practitioners suspended from practice

A suspension is a fixed-term pause on the right to practise. The practitioner cannot work in the regulated profession during the suspension. This page lists recent published suspension decisions across the UK healthcare regulators covered by MedicWatch.

Latest matching decisions

351 total

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 4 months

    Hazel Thomason

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee decided to extend Hazel Thomason's suspension for four months following a review on 21 September 2026. The published decision records that her fitness to practise remained impaired in a health case. The further suspension was ordered to take effect at the end of 4 November 2026, when the existing order ended.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Lawrence Stephen Essilfie

    The NMC found that Lawrence Stephen Essilfie's clinical failings, dishonest overstatement of nursing experience and inappropriate behaviour towards colleagues amounted to misconduct. Alleged sexual motivation was not proved, and some other allegations were dismissed or did not amount to misconduct. The panel recognised training and positive professional evidence but found insufficient insight and remediation. In September 2026 it imposed 12 months' suspension with review, plus an interim suspension covering the appeal period.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 4 months

    Samantha Jane Dixon

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee extended Samantha Jane Dixon's suspension for four months after reviewing earlier dishonesty and clinical failings. It recognised significant improvement in medication practice but found insufficient evidence of changed behaviour addressing honesty and candour. The panel found continuing impairment on public protection grounds, without a separate public-interest finding. The further suspension was ordered to begin at the end of 27 September 2026.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Karen Jane Makinson

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee imposed a 12-month suspension on Karen Jane Makinson after finding she attended work under the influence of alcohol and unfit to practise safely. Two allegations of incorrect medication stock counts were not proved. The panel found impairment but considered the misconduct potentially remediable and striking off disproportionate. The suspension will be reviewed, with an interim suspension covering the appeal period.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Benjamin Terkper

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee imposed a 12-month suspension on Benjamin Terkper after finding misconduct including sexual harassment of a colleague. Several allegations were not proved. The panel accepted significant insight and meaningful remediation but found that his learning had not yet been sufficiently tested in practice. It considered striking off disproportionate and required a review before the suspension ends. An interim suspension covers the appeal period.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Samantha Stewart

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee extended Samantha Stewart's suspension by 12 months following a review on 10 September 2026. The published decision records that her fitness to practise remained impaired and states that the extension would take effect from 29 October 2026. The existing order was also a 12-month suspension. The published document does not set out the underlying allegations or detailed reasons.

    Read the determination

  • Dental Professionals Hearings ServiceDental nurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Hoda Abdmalik Chahid

    The GDC tribunal decided that Hoda Abdmalik Chahid's fitness to practise remained impaired and extended her suspension for 12 months. The committee said it had received no further evidence of insight or steps to address its concerns. The extension begins when the existing order expires on 19 October 2026, subject to appeal. Another review will follow. Details of the private hearing remain withheld.

    Read the determination

  • Medical Practitioners Tribunal ServiceDoctor

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 9 months

    Muhammad Abdelmoez Abdelmoghny KHALIL

    The MPTS tribunal found that Dr Muhammad Khalil's Instagram posts amounted to serious misconduct and impaired his fitness to practise. It found posts antisemitic and seriously offensive, with one supporting violence, while rejecting a violence allegation concerning another post. On 9 September 2026 it imposed nine months' suspension, an immediate suspension order and a review. It found limited insight and insufficient remediation, while noting no repetition of the posts.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Laura Elizabeth Weston

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee imposed a 12-month suspension on Laura Elizabeth Weston following a health case heard entirely in private. The published cover records impairment, several proved charges and one charge not proved, but does not disclose the allegations or detailed reasons. It also records a separate 18-month interim suspension order.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilMidwife

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Nadine Wilson

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee extended Nadine Wilson's suspension for six months after reviewing earlier midwifery competence failings. It acknowledged further training and reflection but found insufficient evidence showing how learning had improved clinical practice or would prevent the failings recurring. The panel found continuing impairment and allowed more time to demonstrate improvement. The further suspension was to begin at the end of 17 October 2026.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Bernadett Kiralyne Kemenes

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee extended Bernadett Kiralyne Kemenes's suspension for six months after reviewing earlier medication errors and dishonest record amendments. The panel had no new evidence of improved practice and found continuing impairment and a risk of repetition. It concluded that further suspension would allow time for reflection and work to address the concerns. The extension was to begin at the end of 14 October 2026.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Emma Louise Carter

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee imposed a further six-month suspension on Emma Louise Carter following a review on 7 September 2026. The published decision records continuing impairment in a health case and states that the order would take effect on 14 October 2026. The committee reviewed an existing 12-month suspension. The entire hearing was held in private, and detailed reasons are not published in the document.

    Read the determination

  • Health and Care Professions CouncilOccupational therapist

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Jennifer Champion

    Occupational therapist Jennifer Champion was suspended for six months after the panel found serious failings in records and risk management, and dishonest charging for administrative work. Some risk-assessment and professional-boundary allegations were not proved. The panel found current impairment but recognised developing insight and willingness to improve, considering striking off disproportionate. A separate interim suspension covers the period before the substantive order and any appeal.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Joanne Elliott

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee imposed a further six-month suspension on Joanne Elliott following a review on 4 September 2026. The published decision records continuing impairment in a misconduct and health case and states that the order would take effect on 27 September 2026. The entire hearing was held in private, and the published document does not set out detailed allegations or reasons.

    Read the determination

  • Health and Care Professions CouncilPhysiotherapist

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Bijoy Bridewin Thomas

    The HCPTS panel imposed a 12-month suspension on physiotherapist Bijoy Bridewin Thomas following motoring convictions and failures to disclose them correctly to the regulator. It did not find dishonesty proved. The panel found current impairment, limited insight and insufficient evidence of remediation, but allowed a further opportunity to address the concerns. A separate interim suspension covers the appeal process before the substantive order takes effect.

    Read the determination

  • Dental Professionals Hearings ServiceDental nurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 9 months

    Lucy Ann Symes

    The GDC tribunal decided that Lucy Ann Symes's fitness to practise remained impaired and extended her suspension for nine months. The review followed earlier findings about interference with hospital care and behaviour towards staff. The committee said it had received no further evidence of insight or steps to address the misconduct. The extension runs from the existing order's expiry on 10 September 2026, subject to appeal, with another review required.

    Read the determination

  • Health and Care Professions CouncilSpeech and language therapist

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Stephanie J Allen

    The HCPTS panel extended speech and language therapist Stephanie J Allen's suspension for six months from 16 October 2026. The earlier case involved a drink-driving conviction and failure to notify the regulator promptly. The panel found continuing impairment because there was insufficient evidence of insight or remediation. It allowed another opportunity to engage, with a further review required before the order expires in April 2027.

    Read the determination

  • Dental Professionals Hearings ServiceDentist

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Philip James Johnson-Smith

    On 2 September 2026, the GDC Health Committee extended Philip Johnson-Smith's suspension for a further 12 months, beginning when the existing order would otherwise expire. The Committee found that his fitness to practise remained impaired on health grounds and that conditions were not currently workable. A further review will take place before the extended suspension expires. The published determination redacts private health details.

    Read the determination

  • Dental Professionals Hearings ServiceDental nurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Savanna Cormack

    The GDC tribunal decided that Savanna Cormack's fitness to practise remained impaired and extended her suspension for six months from the existing order's expiry on 2 October 2026. The review concerned earlier findings about a conviction, failure to notify the regulator and health. The committee found insufficient evidence of insight or steps to address those concerns. A further review is required. Private health details remain withheld.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilMidwife

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Louise Jane Leeson

    The NMC found that midwife Louise Jane Leeson repeatedly fell below the required standard in medicines management, fetal monitoring and other areas of care despite substantial supervision. It found lack of competence, not misconduct, and rejected two record-keeping allegations. The panel imposed a 12-month suspension with review, alongside a separate interim suspension covering the appeal period.

    Read the determination

  • Medical Practitioners Tribunal ServiceDoctor

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Mohammed ELMAJEE

    The MPTS tribunal suspended Dr Mohammed Elmajee for 12 months after finding that non-consensual kissing and attempted kissing of a colleague amounted to sexual harassment. It found his fitness to practise impaired and directed an immediate suspension and a review. The allegation of lunging was not proved, and a separate WhatsApp message was not found to constitute sexual harassment. The tribunal considered the misconduct potentially remediable and erasure disproportionate.

    Read the determination

  • Medical Practitioners Tribunal ServiceDoctor

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 10 months

    Patrick Hart

    The MPTS tribunal found that Dr Patrick Hart's fitness to practise remained impaired following misconduct and convictions arising from climate protests. On 28 August 2026 it extended his suspension for a further 10 months and directed another review. It acknowledged his sincerely held views but found insufficient evidence of insight, remediation or updated clinical skills. It concluded that suspension remained necessary and that erasure would be disproportionate at this first review.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Miss Marie Louise Fiske

    The NMC found that Marie Louise Fiske remained impaired after an earlier finding that she attempted to kick a patient. The original panel regarded this as involuntary self-protection, not deliberate aggression. The review panel found insufficient evidence of further remediation and ordered a six-month suspension, starting when her current conditions expire at the end of 6 October 2026.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Melissa Papandrea

    The NMC panel decided to suspend Melissa Papandrea for 12 months after proving three failings in assessing a resident and providing CPR. It found misconduct and continuing impairment, while recognising growing insight and steps towards remediation. The decision does not establish that her failings caused the resident’s death. A separate interim suspension covers the appeal period; the substantive suspension will be reviewed.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Andrew Cassels

    The NMC found that Andrew Cassels’ sexual-assault conviction required a finding of impairment to uphold public confidence and professional standards. It accepted evidence of reflection and training, assessed the risk of repetition as low and found no basis for public-protection impairment. The panel imposed a six-month suspension with review, rejecting striking off as disproportionate.

    Read the determination

  • Health and Care Professions CouncilParamedic

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 5 months

    Stuart Morris

    The HCPTS panel imposed a five-month suspension on paramedic Stuart Morris over a professional-boundaries breach while he was a student. He had visited a vulnerable patient privately and bought wine for him. The panel accepted his insight and remediation and found no personal impairment, but found impairment on public-interest grounds. A separate interim suspension covers the appeal process before the substantive order takes effect.

    Read the determination

  • Health and Care Professions CouncilParamedic

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 4 months

    Alexander McDowell

    The HCPTS panel extended paramedic Alexander McDowell's suspension by four months following a review. Earlier findings concerned sexually motivated contact with a vulnerable service user. The panel found that training material and a promise of further reflection did not demonstrate adequate insight into his own conduct. It allowed another opportunity to remediate, with a review required before the extended order expires on 27 January 2027.

    Read the determination

  • Medical Practitioners Tribunal ServiceDoctor

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 9 months

    Vinesh Narayan

    The MPTS tribunal found that Dr Vinesh Narayan's fitness to practise was no longer impaired by misconduct, recognising genuine insight, remorse and effective remediation. It considered the risk of repeating the earlier controlling or coercive behaviour to be low. The published outcome records a nine-month suspension and another review, while the remaining grounds and associated reasons are redacted from the public decision.

    Read the determination

  • Health and Care Professions CouncilRadiographer

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 9 months

    Aneesh Daniel

    The HCPTS panel imposed a nine-month suspension on radiographer Aneesh Daniel after finding he accessed a service user's contact details without authorisation and used them for sexually motivated personal contact. The case also involved failures to report employment restrictions to the regulator. The panel recognised some insight and remediation but found continuing impairment. A separate interim suspension covers the appeal process.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 4 months

    Laura McGuire

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee found that registered nurse Laura McGuire's fitness to practise is impaired. She admitted both charges against her. The committee imposed a suspension order of four months, without review, and made no interim order. The whole hearing was held in private under Rule 19, so the charges and the committee's reasons are not in the public record. The case is recorded as a misconduct case.

    Read the determination

  • Health and Care Professions CouncilOccupational therapist

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Moira Hume

    The HCPTS panel suspended occupational therapist Moira Hume for 12 months following a private health hearing. The public decision records impairment on health grounds but does not disclose the detailed health findings. Two separate conviction allegations were discontinued because the health decision and suspension sufficiently addressed public protection. An interim suspension covers the appeal process before the substantive order takes effect.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Sandeep Selvaraj

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee found that Sandeep Selvaraj, a registered adult nurse at Ulster Hospital, showed a lack of competence in medication administration, record keeping and wound care over about three years, and acted dishonestly on four occasions to conceal failures in patient care, including forging a colleague's signature. The panel found his fitness to practise impaired and suspended him for 12 months, with a review before the order ends.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Lisa Edwards

    The NMC found that Lisa Edwards, a registered nurse, made demeaning remarks to a bedbound care home resident about her smell, swore at a healthcare assistant colleague, and spoke dismissively to a second resident's relatives about funding for his care, including saying patients would eventually rot in their beds. The panel found her fitness to practise impaired by reason of misconduct and imposed a suspension order for 12 months, with a review. An interim suspension order of 18 months was also made.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Ashley Hayden Newson

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee decided that Ashley Hayden Newson, a registered adult nurse, was impaired by reason of health. The panel accepted a consensual panel determination and found charges 1, 2a, 2b(i), 2b(ii) and 2b(iii) proved. It imposed a suspension order for 12 months, with a review before it ends, and an 18-month interim suspension order. The hearing was held entirely in private under Rule 19, so the details are not in the public record.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Ashley Hayden Newson

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee found that registered nurse Ashley Hayden Newson's fitness to practise is impaired. The committee accepted a consensual panel determination, with charges 1 and 2 found proved, and imposed a suspension order of 12 months with a review, together with an 18-month interim suspension order. The case is recorded as a health case. The whole meeting was held in private under Rule 19, so the charges and the committee's reasons are not in the public record.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 2 months

    Nicola Paris Haran

    The NMC found that Nicola Paris Haran, a registered nurse, accessed the clinical records of eight patients and a colleague without clinical justification between January and November 2021, including those of a child who had died, and was dishonest when first asked about two of them. The panel found her fitness to practise impaired on public interest grounds only, and said she posed no risk to the public and had remediated her practice. It imposed a two-month suspension order without a review.

    Read the determination

  • Dental Professionals Hearings ServiceDental nurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 4 months

    Serenidade Bela Do Nascimento Fernandes

    The GDC tribunal decided that the suspension of Serenidade Bela Do Nascimento Fernandes's registration as a dental nurse should be extended. At a review hearing on 5 August 2026 the Professional Conduct Committee extended the suspension by a further four months, and the order will be reviewed before it ends. Ms Fernandes has been suspended since 8 May 2026. The GDC records that the decision is within the appeal period.

    Read the determination

  • Dental Professionals Hearings ServiceDental nurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 month

    Fatemazehra Naushad Mawji

    The GDC tribunal decided that dental nurse Fatemazehra Naushad Mawji should be suspended for one month. The Professional Conduct Committee made the order on 5 August 2026, and the suspension takes effect after the appeal period. The GDC's notice of inquiry set out charges covering two sets of driving convictions in 2021 and 2022, a failure to tell the GDC about those convictions and about two criminal charges, and a failure to declare a conviction when applying for the additional title of dental therapist. The committee's findings on those charges are not published.

    Read the determination

  • Dental Professionals Hearings ServiceDentist

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 3 months

    Amar Sundeep Arjuna

    The GDC tribunal decided that Mr Amar Sundeep Arjuna, a dentist, should be suspended from the register for three months. The Professional Conduct Committee made the decision on 4 August 2026, after a hearing on 3 August 2026, and ordered that his registration be suspended immediately. The suspension will be reviewed before the order ends. The published hearing record sets out the outcome only, so the charges and the Committee's reasons are not available. The record notes the decision was within the appeal period.

    Read the determination

  • Dental Professionals Hearings ServiceDental nurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 3 months

    Selina Nicola Bright

    The GDC tribunal decided that dental nurse Selina Bright should be suspended for three months after dishonest claims about tooth whitening and her registration status. It found her orthodontic nurse title misleading but not dishonest. No whitening treatment was provided and no patient harm occurred. The committee found that insight and remediation remained insufficient. It ordered a review and imposed immediate suspension to cover the appeal period.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 4 months

    Phylicia Khadijatu Sheriff

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee found that registered nurse Phylicia Khadijatu Sheriff slapped a colleague on the cheek during a handover at North Middlesex University Hospital NHS Trust on 29 May 2024. Ms Sheriff admitted the charge. The panel found the slap was deliberate but impulsive and out of character, and decided her insight needed further development. It suspended her registration for four months and imposed an 18-month interim suspension order covering the appeal period.

    Read the determination

  • Health and Care Professions CouncilRadiographer

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 11 months

    Juan P Saunar

    The HCPTS panel imposed an 11-month suspension on radiographer Juan P Saunar after a rehearing of misconduct proceedings involving colleagues and attempted witness influence. It accepted substantial insight and remediation and found impairment on public-interest grounds only. The panel considered the misconduct serious but concluded that suspension was proportionate, taking account of time served under an earlier order that had been quashed.

    Read the determination

  • Health and Care Professions CouncilOccupational therapist

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Laura S McArthur

    The HCPTS Health Committee extended occupational therapist Laura S McArthur's suspension for six months from 17 September 2026. The review was held in private because the concerns were closely linked to health matters. The published decision records the order and the requirement for another review before 17 March 2027, but does not disclose the detailed health findings or substantive review reasoning.

    Read the determination

  • Dental Professionals Hearings ServiceDentist

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Georgios Kantopoulos

    The GDC tribunal decided that George Kantopoulos should be suspended for 12 months after workplace sexual-harassment and unprofessional-conduct findings concerning a practice computer and comments to a colleague. Sexual motivation was not proved, and several allegations were rejected. The committee ordered a review and immediate suspension. The hearing page records an appeal on 31 August 2026 and states that suspension remains in place pending its resolution.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Levi Whalley

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee found that Levi Whalley, a registered nurse, was convicted at Blackburn Magistrates Court on 24 February 2025 of being concerned in the fraudulent evasion of prohibition of the importation of a class B drug. The panel found her fitness to practise impaired on public interest grounds only, noting no clinical or public protection concerns, and imposed a 12-month suspension order with a review, plus an 18-month interim suspension order.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 6 months

    Edward Allen Lopez

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee found that Edward Allen Lopez's fitness to practise was impaired by reason of misconduct. The panel found he grabbed a junior colleague's genitals in a hospital stairwell in September 2024, that the conduct was sexual in nature and amounted to harassment, but was not in pursuit of sexual gratification. Noting his admissions, apology and 25-year career without previous concerns, the panel imposed a six-month suspension order with a review, and an interim suspension order for 18 months.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Benedicte Briand

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee found that Benedicte Briand's fitness to practise was impaired. The committee found charges 1 and 2 proved and imposed a suspension order for 12 months, together with an interim suspension order for 18 months. The NMC recorded the matter as a health and caution case. The hearing was held entirely in private under Rule 19 of the Nursing and Midwifery Council (Fitness to Practise) Rules 2004, so the detailed charges and reasons are not in the public record.

    Read the determination

  • Dental Professionals Hearings ServiceDentist

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Vasileios Avgeris

    The GDC tribunal decided that Mr Vasileios Avgeris, a dentist, should be suspended from the register for 12 months. At a review hearing on 24 July 2026, the Health Committee found that his fitness to practise remained impaired because of an adverse health condition. It decided that the conditions placed on his registration in 2024 were no longer workable, revoked them and imposed suspension instead. It also imposed an immediate suspension order. The order will be reviewed shortly before the 12 months end. The hearing was held in private and the health details are not public.

    Read the determination

  • Health and Care Professions CouncilParamedic

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 9 months

    Bogdan Volindan

    Paramedic Bogdan Volindan was suspended for nine months after a fresh panel reconsidered the sanction for falsifying an Offshore Medic training record and forging a colleague's signatures. The High Court had quashed the earlier conditions of practice sanction. The panel recognised developing insight but found his reflection and remediation incomplete. A separate interim suspension covers the appeal period.

    Read the determination

  • Nursing and Midwifery CouncilNurse

    Suspension(suspended from practice)· 1 year

    Olanma Monalisa Davidson

    The NMC's Fitness to Practise Committee found that Olanma Monalisa Davidson's fitness to practise remains impaired. Reviewing a conditions of practice order imposed in July 2025 for misconduct in a care home, the panel found little evidence that she had complied with the conditions, undertaken training or produced a reflective piece. It replaced the conditions with a suspension order for 12 months, taking effect at the end of 12 August 2026.

    Read the determination

Choose what works for you. Your choices are remembered for 180 days and you can change them any time using Cookie settings.